gully good synergy – jacques brel


(english translation below)

by Jacques Brel

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i2wmKcBm4Ik

Ne me quitte pas

Il faut oublier

Tout peut s´oublier

Qui s´enfuit déjà

Oublier le temps

Des malentendus

Et le temps perdu

A savoir comment

Oublier ces heures

Qui tuaient parfois

A coups de pourquoi

Le cœur du bonheur

Ne me quitte pas

Ne me quitte pas

Ne me quitte pas

Ne me quitte pas

Moi je t´offrirai

Des perles de pluie

Venues de pays

Où il ne pleut pas

Je creuserai la terre

Jusqu´après ma mort

Pour couvrir ton corps

D´or et de lumière

Je ferai un domaine

Où l´amour sera roi

Où l´amour sera loi

Où tu seras reine

Ne me quitte pas

Ne me quitte pas

Ne me quitte pas

Ne me quitte pas

Ne me quitte pas

Je t´inventerai

Des mots insensés

Que tu comprendras

Je te parlerai

De ces amants-là

Qui ont vu deux fois

Leurs cœurs s´embraser

Je te raconterai

L´histoire de ce roi

Mort de n´avoir pas

Pu te rencontrer

Ne me quitte pas

Ne me quitte pas

Ne me quitte pas

Ne me quitte pas

On a vu souvent

Rejaillir le feu

De l´ancien volcan

Qu´on croyait trop vieux

Il est paraît-il

Des terres brûlées

Donnant plus de blé

Qu´un meilleur avril

Et quand vient le soir

Pour qu´un ciel flamboie

Le rouge et le noir

Ne s´épousent-ils pas

Ne me quitte pas

Ne me quitte pas

Ne me quitte pas

Ne me quitte pas

Ne me quitte pas

Je n´vais plus pleurer

Je n´vais plus parler

Je me cacherai là

A te regarder

Danser et sourire

Et à t´écouter

Chanter et puis rire

Laisse-moi devenir

L´ombre de ton ombre

L´ombre de ta main

L´ombre de ton chien

Mais

Ne me quitte pas

Ne me quitte pas

Ne me quitte pas

Ne me quitte pas.

 

do not break me

“…the more you love the more you suffer…” – Lao Tzu

Edvard Munch. Separation-løsrivelse

do not quit me

one must forget

all that can be forgotten

once it has already fled

forget those fugitive times

those misunderstandings

and the time they cost

to know how to forget

how to forget those hours

that sometimes kill

the hart of happiness

with a poison toungue

do not quit me

do not leave me

do not drop me

do not break me

an offering i would make you

of beads of rain

from distant deserts

where it does not rain

i would mine the earth

until my dying day

for diamonds and gold

to adorn your body

i would plant a vineyard

where love is king

where love will be law

where you would be queen

do not break me

do not quit me

do not leave me

do not drop me

 

do not quit me

for you i will invent such foolish words

as only you appreciate

i would speak to you

of such lovers with eyes ablaze

who entwine their harts

i would tell you the history of a king

that death would not take

you should meet him

do not drop me

do not break me

do not quit me

do not leave me

 

one has often seen the fire

erupting from an ancient volcano

long thought asleep

we all know that burnt fields

are fertile yielding more wheat

producing better harvests

but when the evening comes

the dusky sky is ablaze

with fire and ashes

do not such marry

do not leave me

do not drop me

do not break me

do not quit me

 

do not quit me

i am not going to cry anymore

i am not going to speak anymore

i am going to hide myself here

so that looking at you dancing and smiling

and while listening to you singing

and then laughing

allowing me to become

the shadow of your shadow

the shadow of your hand

the shadow of our jasper hound

but

do not quit me

do not leave me

do not drop me

do not break me
separtion

translated by chétien marc valentin

(© 09 juni 2014)

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to gully good synergy – jacques brel

  1. johncoyote says:

    A amazing poem.I like the positive energy and the flow of the poem. I like the closing lines. Felt like a prayer to keep someone near and holding on.

    Like

  2. Lan says:

    I think this is one of the most important information for me.
    And i am glad reading your article. But want to remark on few general things, The website style
    is perfect, the articles is really nice : D. Good job, cheers

    Like

Leave a Reply

