the dutch mirror – a darker womb


a darker womb

(a paradelle* for mara)

“The familiar waters below my warm hand.”

-Billy Collins

adarkerwomb1

you will recall your love is a phoenix somewhere

somewhere you will recall your love is a phoenix

on a basket weaving flames already nesting

nesting on a basket weaving flames already

you recall your love is somewhere already will

a phoenix weaving a basket of flames nesting on

 

nothing

there is if not more love than stars my dear

my dear nothing there is if not more love than stars

an infinite womb amplifying grief our love

our love an infinite womb grief amplifying

my grief our love an infinite womb my love is

nothing my dear amplifying more love if not stars

 

a velvet canopy that unfamiliar kiss

that unfamiliar kiss the velvet canopy

my tears dripping through aeons quickens your dull thirst

your dull thirst my tears dripping through aeons quickens

that unfamiliar canopy through aeons my

velvet kiss quickens dull aeons dripping my tears

 

my love violating self imposed boundaries

self imposed boundaries my love violating

your whimsy tempering my infinite patience

my infinite patience your whimsy tempering

tempering my infinite love your whimsy my

self imposed patience violating boundaries

 

you will recall my love your grief is a phoenix

somewhere already if not stars my dear nothing

a basket of flames weaving grief nesting whimsy

dripping infinite thirst tempering our velvet

tears  my love quickens love violating patience

self imposed boundaries amplifying aeons

 

are not more than this unfamiliar canopy

moongoddess1

a darker womb wherein shining stars refine bliss

mark emmanuel christohper valentine

(© 27 april 2012)

* note: The paradelle is one of the more demanding French fixed poetic forms, first appearing in the langue d’oc love poetry of the eleventh century. Traditionally, it is a poem of four six-line stanzas in which the first and second lines, as well as the third and fourth lines of the first three stanzas must be identical. The fifth and sixth lines must resolve each stanza using all the words in the preceding lines and only those words. Similarly, the final stanza must use every word from all the preceding stanzas and only those words.  The critical reader will notice I have conscientiously evolved this already complicated form in this its english reincarnation.

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

