the muse of muses – second haiku to emBeth


how can this happen
before i can find my quill
cherries became stones

once again leonard cohen & i weep

This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to the muse of muses – second haiku to emBeth

  1. EmBeth says:

    Another: Aww! I wanna call but can’t find your card. I’d like to inject some reality. ;-D

    Like

    • i have unlimited domestic calling & texting via att! m.c.valentine@icloud.com. or, 209 559 5612! please continue to go slow!!! ❤

      m

      Like

      • EmBeth says:

        I called and texted after work last night. Unless I had the wrong number, your phone “was not accepting calls.” And I don’t know if you received the text. I’m working today, Saturday, and caregiving (my brother is not well) tonight – but I’ll try you again OTW or next week.

        Like

      • …hmm…i just finished moving to Twain Harte this week..crashed early but my iphone has unlimited texting & long distance…no record of either! 209 559 5611 or private email to m.c.valentine@icloud.com! sorry to hear about your brother. you can call after 6:15! i am free for the evening!

        Like

      • my iphone has no record of you calling! 209 559 5611 ^^~~~~

        Like

      • EmBeth says:

        Ah! You gave an incorrect number the first time; instead of 11, you typo’d with a 12!

        Like

      • phat pinky syndrome, we do not use our thick thumbs. no internet again until next week other than my iphone! 😉

        Like

      • …i find it delightful to hear from you…i sit on my deck with my irish setter enjoying the alpine subset & the incense of cedars…and enjoy knowing that emBeth is Mor or Lesy an almost complete enigma to me! my jade smiles…we have many more muses than lovers…you were the one who might have once upon a time become both – an immortal beloved – my adolescent eyes were just to blind to see beyond the end of my protestant nose! lol!! even if u never call, u are & remain this poet’s muse of muses…i am after all as a mystical poet writing my own love story…& you are the road that diverged in a yellow wood many years ago (Frost)!

        Like

      • …just got from playing 4 Maases so for an anecdote i listening to Keith Jarret’s most recent release, RI0! pondering all your messages! still have not processed them completely! u r a goldmine! 🙂 so! to respond to your most intimate question: that night that began in heaven & ended in hell made it impossible for me to set my own poetry to music! contacting u is about reuniting the two halves of my soul that divorced that night! i think with my Muse of muses back the war between my poetry & music may end! i start even now to hear how maybe i want to set the haiku i am exploring writing to for voice & piano! ❤ thank u again 4 the gracefulness of your forgiveness!!!

        Like

      • EmBeth says:

        I will continue to go slowly…
        No worries there, Mark.

        Like

    • emBeth! it has been a long journey for me back to recovering that night i spent with you! i would rather die blind, deaf & dumb than hurt u again! u r my muse of muses! 😉

      Like

    • …p.s….who decides what is reality? if i have temporarily convinced myself i am wrong does that make you politically correct & me waspishly not wrong but perhaps gonow into all things darkly majestic (god my tongue is so slippery somethings i thirst for sand-paper…blah, bLah, blaH! we will try to write a better haiku – one more worthy of your beauty – tomorrow or is it already today?

      Like

  2. EmBeth says:

    * I’m working so much I could scream! And therefore, before leaving, I’m visiting your blog. I just read your comment above, and your Fourth Haiku. The Haiku is gorgeous! Do you ever put your poetry to music? Just asking cuz your words would make great lyrics, sort of in the vein of George Harrison’s early solo work . Or John Lennon or Kurt Cobain. Or…like the Psychedelic 60’s!
    * BTW, “Being There” is a very deep, and deeply comedic movie with Peter Sellers and Shirley MacLaine. It’s a must-see classic that is not about dysfunction but somehow sends up, in more of a French film sort of way, how we humans are. In fact, I’ve got to see it again.
    * Since it has been a decade or four…YES — I indeed get to mention that you’ve conjured a vision that is yours alone. And with the possible help of your bottles of wine? I rarely drink; I haven’t liked drinking in years, but every now and again, I do enjoy a little bit of wine or a smoky, spicy, “foodie” kind of tequila drink.

    Like

    • u have no idea how anodine your sweet words are to my hart of harts! merci beaucoup !

      Like

    • i have been in the food & wine business most of my life! i used to run a benelux corporation called silver grapes! wine in moderation is the beverage of the gods! 🙂

      Like

      • EmBeth says:

        Ok – my last note for today. I’m not hurt but I am agitated. I called the correct number, the second one you gave me — and guess what? No – NOT chicken butt! It’s another nonexistent number. I also sent two lovely text messages on Saturday. Please understand that it makes me nervous to read your poetry. If I could reach you then I could explain.

        Like

  3. EmBeth says:

    Actually, the movie is very funny in a British way. Very clever.

    Like

Leave a Reply

