the dutch mirror – The Beloved is the Rose of roses


The Beloved is the Rose of roses

“Search, no matter what situation you are in. O thirsty one, search for water constantly.  Finally, the time will come when you will reach the spring.”

                                -Unknown

stainedfiverosechaplet  

When first I fell in love with the Beloved

My hart was as a Red Rose

 

It was aflame with a Profane Fire

 

A prodigal heat that scorched the flesh

My Beloved lead me into the jungle

And there we sampled the pleasures of dark things

Of the mysterious intoxications and alterations

To be experienced by surrendering to desire

To the lusts of the body

 

When second I fell in love with the Beloved

My hart was as a Blue Rose

 

It was aflame with a Sacramental Fire

 

A purifying heat requiring me to run on blistering sands

My Beloved lead me into the Sinai desert

And would not be satisfied with adolescent games

Bored she demanded that there be something more

To be experienced and ran away left me alone to suffer

The delusions and cravings of a tormented mind

 

When third I fell in love with the Beloved

My hart was as a White Rose

 

A Holy Fire began to smolder in my soul

My Beloved returned to lead me into the mountains

But I stumbled could not keep up and let go of her hand

Now she sails in Clouds of Unknowing beyond the summit

Waiting for us to renounce not only bodies and minds

But also the longings of our frail but still unbroken harts

 

When fourth we fell in love with the Beloved

My Sacred Hart was as a Golden Rose

 

I was no longer a seeker of the Beloved

For now we are she who is always before us

Rather should we say I am the lover he who always follows

Rather should we say we are both the Beloved and Lover

we are the lusts of the body the cravings of the mind

the longings of all chaste harts for completion

 

When fifth I fell in love with the Beloved

My sacred Hart is as a Black Rose

 

Our Hart of harts is a black Black Rose

we are in Love with the Spirit of Keltia herself

Our Love is black gold and lacking form

We are our Beloved’s poet and She is our Muse

 

Hail Mara Mirror of Passion

Sweet Tara Mirror of Compassion

Hail Astarte Mirror Queen of Aspiration

astarte

We are your alabaster arms of fuller gracefulness

-Mark Christopher Valentine

(October 8, 2000, revised 26 juni 2014)

This entry was posted in Poetry, The Living Logos, The Path of the Sacred Warrior and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

